UEA Sub-Saharan African Award 2022/2023




UEA Sub-Saharan African Award 2022/2023  is now open for All Sub-Saharan Africa Students applying to a Postgraduate course* at UEA will be automatically awarded this scholarship.


Host country: UK

Host university: universities available in the program

Study Level: Masters

Eligible Countries: International, Sub-Saharan African countries

Number of Awards: Not specified


the Benefits of UEA Sub-Saharan African Award:

UEA Sub-Saharan African Award: This award is worth:

  • £4,000 – if you meet UEA entry requirements
  • £5,000 – if your final undergraduate grade is the equivalent of a high 2:1

Amounts will be deducted from your tuition fees, in line with terms and conditions.

*courses commencing September 2022 only


List of the Eligible Countries:

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo, The Democratic Republic of the
  • Cote DIvoire
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania, United Republic of
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

How to Apply for UEA Sub-Saharan African Award:

If you meet the Eligibility Criteria, the fee discount of the International Postgraduate Country Award will be automatic. You do not need to make a separate application. 

The award shall be made as a tuition fee scholarship by means of a fee discount. No cheque or payment shall be made direct to the student. The length of the award is specified in your scholarship notification email. 

The scholarship is offered for a specified course; there is no guarantee that the scholarship will be transferred to an alternative course. 

If an awardee defers their entry to a following year, then the scholarship award will be removed. The applicant may be considered again the following year, but any award cannot be guaranteed.

  • It is important to go through all application requirements in the Award Webpage (see Link below) before applying.